Each local Presbyterian Church is governed by two groups of people; the Session and the Deacons. From the Office of the General Assembly, Forms of Government, Chapter VI (G-6.0107 Election by the People), “The government of this church is representative, and the right of God’s people to elect their officers is inalienable. Therefore, no person can be placed in any permanent office in a congregation or governing body of the church except by election of that body.”

Session members consist of the pastor/co-pastor, any associate pastors, and active church elders. All members of Session are entitled to vote.

Moderator – the Rev. Kent Leydens

Class of 2015 – Larry Barbour, Karen Bloodhart, Jesse Eckel, Paul Myzsa

Class of 2016 – Matt Hinkle, Dietta Hitchcock  -Clerk, Bob Entrop

Class of 2017 – Mark Daniels, Ann Ruback

The role of church deacons is “to minister to those who are in need, to the sick, to the friendless, and to any who may be in distress both within and beyond the community of faith.”

Class of 2014 – Michelle Button Joyce, Martha Brown, Mary Hubbard, Marty Sparks

Class of 2015 – Delores Blair, Betty Young, Ann Hultman, Luci Tucker

Class of 2016 – Jacqueline Allen, Kate Daniels, Lynn Karnes, Jane Ann Oldrup, Margo Fullinwider

Leave a Reply